Posted by: opphiucus | June 5, 2007

Kodomo no Jikan

Just when I thought I might give up from loli manga, I dled another comedy manga with loli as its main theme. Let me tell you, this manga is surprisingly hot that it’s very disturbing to me (in a good way, if you know what I mean). I’ll tell you a bit about this heart-warming manga by Kaworu Watashiya, Kodomo no Jikan.

Volume 1 cover

The manga has actually run for a while but somehow it manages to fly under my vision until recently. It all thanks to the controversy due to its cancellation in the US. If it doesn’t happen then this manga would probably never caught my attention.

Just like most comedy manga, the story is simple to the point where it’s more like slice-of-life. It tells the story of Aoki Daisuke, a new elementary school teacher who teaches 3rd grade. He’s a simple man looking for a simple job until he realized that one of his student, Kokonoe Rin, is trying to seduce him. Not only that, he must face the dillema of a teacher while at the same time bearing Rin’s harassment. The manga also focuses on two other Rin’s friends, Usa Mimi and Kagami Kuro. Mimi is facing her own dillema for being too busty for her age and Kuro is a stoic gothic loli girl with yuri tendency towards Rin.

An unlucky man or a poor bastard? You decide.

Now you can see why this manga got cancelled in the US. The content is just borderline risky although nothing H ever takes place in the manga. It’s just a fun comedy but I won’t deny that the theme is quite unacceptable for Western audience. Although I don’t have problem with KnJ, I must blame this manga for giving me guilty pleasure ;_;

Leave a Reply

Categories

